Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery…

During Crazy 88’s trip to the European Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Championships (part of our goal to continue to be Baltimore’s top BJJ team), I saw a funny Volkswagon commercial.  In each scene, there is a salesman talking with a prospective buyer.  Each salesman points out a particular feature of the car in comparison to a Volkswagon Golf. 

“See the interior – just like a Volkswagon Golf!” 
“Yeah, the safety ratings are just like a Volkswagon Golf!” 
“Nice engine huh?  We designed it after the Volkswagon Golf!”
etc. etc.

*** I FOUND THE COMMERCIAL ON YOUTUBE ***

Now I don’t know if VW Golfs are good are bad but the point is made – if everyone seems intent on just copying something –  there must be something to the original!

For an example right from our BJJ school – ever notice how every gi is compared to a Koral (the original “luxury” gi) and every light gi is compared to Vulkan (the original gi sold on virtue of its lightness)? 

Anyway, with the success of Crazy 88 Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and Team Lloyd Irvin (most of the marketing I use is derivative of my mentor Lloyd Irvin’s), I’ve noticed quite a lot of “flattery” from other martial arts schools in the area. 

So far I’ve noticed…

  • More and more local MMA / BJJ school switching over to the 30 Day Free Trial
  • Google adwords campaigns with a single word (usually location) changed
  • “Fake” prospective students coming in to experience the new client tour / 30 Day Trial
  • Website text directly cut and pasted
  • New website designs copied; we are always putting up new websites to test what google likes and the successful ones get copied a few months later… LOL!

Anyway, I guess its true that its not IF your competitors copy you, but WHEN and also that we must be doing something right if everyone wants to copy us. 

PS – I will give a free sweatshirt to any current students who can find a direct example of any of the above.  Email me your submissions!  I am keeping a list!

2 thoughts on “Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery…

Leave a comment